Dannah Westbrook Says AHCA Competition Is A Ball

Having A Ball With Your Horse

My name is Dannah Westbrook and I am the 14-year-old daughter of Clay and Stacy Westbrook. I live in Mount Enterprise, Texas where I have been riding since I was 7 years old. My momma and daddy took me to a weeklong Christian riding camp in Van, Texas called Sky Ranch. Momma had ridden all her life so she knew that if I got saddle sores and still wanted to ride that my heart was truly in it. I continued to only dream of my very own horse. I rode that whole week and the director told momma that I never wanted off the horse. So when momma came to watch me ride the last day we went and picked up my first horse.

I began in the horse world competing in ranch rodeos and speed events. In 2010 I became curious about other aspects of riding and more horsemanship. I met Wendy Stephens and I rode with her 2010-2012 where I gained my foundation for horsemanship and competition. I was also introduced to Janice Early in 2010 and she has allowed me to ride numerous amazing ponies that she raised at Lazy J Welsh Pony ranch.

I have been blessed enough to ride under numerous world known clinicians. I have enjoyed and learned from Wendy Stephens -27- Training Center Vivian, La, Mike Bridges a California vaquero style horseman, Jack Brainerd the master of the flying lead change Whitesboro, Texas, and Eitan Beth-Halacamy training in cowboy dressage. These trainers have helped me become the rider I am today. I have won national, state and regional championships, and set arena records on numerous horses and ponies because of these clinicians, lots of saddle soars and dedication. In 2013 God blessed me with the AHCA national youth championship on Lazy J Star Witness “my Super Star.”

I have been acknowledged in 11 publications and believe that my heart starts and stops with a horse. My four-legged friends have gotten me through many uphill challenges in my short life. I will never be able to repay the horses/ponies for the dedication they give me in the arena or at work in the fields.

I have competed in many competitions speed events, equestrian drill team, goat tying, english, showmanship, western pleasure, jumping, dressage, trail, cowboy racing, and AHCA. My favorite of these would have to be AHCA. With this competition comes cow work, shooting guns, bows and arrows, bridges, water crossing, technical elements of horsemanship, jumping, roping, or anything that you could encounter working a big ranch. This sport is truly a family sport. It is very entertaining and children can learn to ride correctly.

In 2014 my plan is to compete in amateur on Lazy J Star Witness a 5 yr. old Welsh pony owned by Janice Early of Lazy J Welsh Pony Ranch in Linden, Texas, Dual Contender “Colt” a 3 yr old AQHA and Blue Cedar Lady “Cedar” a 2006 AQHA both owned by Robert and Cody Taylor of Lazy RC Farms Appleby, Texas, and I may compete some on my 2010 Welsh pony Lazy J The G-Man.

I would like to thank some very special people in my life for getting me to this point Janice Early, Wendy Stephens, Robert, Cody and Lane Taylor, Carol Caldwell, Joni Brown with JoMar Farms, and especially my momma and daddy. I would not have made it this far in the horse world without all of their support.

In the future I hope that I can help people learn to ride with correct horsemanship and accomplish their goals with their horse/pony just as I am learning to do. I love to help kids and see their faces as they are getting to ride that horse/pony for the first time. My prayer for each and every person is that they all get to love a horse or pony as I have.

Thank you,

Dannah WestbrookAmerican Horsemen Challenge Association

One Response to Dannah Westbrook Says AHCA Competition Is A Ball

  1. stacy westbrook says:

    Thank you so much for asking to publish my daughters story. I am a very proud mother and she is amazing with horses or ponies.

Leave a Reply

